• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 100%
    28   0   0
    Dec 17, 2010
    Freedom , yes really Freedom
    Picked up from my local store that was sold to them. The story goes "dad" bought it new for self defense but didn't really care for guns and never shot it, son inherited it and just wanted to get rid of it.
    Personally I love the "old stock" look of when it has every piece of paper it came with, wax paper, cleaning kit still in the flimsy plastic and the 2nd mag appears to never have even been inserted into the magwell.

She's an absolutely stunning Smith and Wesson 5906 stainless in 9mm. Serial dates to 1989. As far as I can tell there isn't a scratch internally or carbon anywhere. There's bits of the old oil/grease everywhere on the edges of everything. I'm no expert of course and it very well could've had a few mags through it and just really well taken care of.

Though the 5906 isn't as iconic looking from afar like let's say a Beretta 92, it still gives me memories of watching Lethal Weapon with my father and now later seeing that recognizable profile.

I am not a collector of sorts, I buy guns because I like them. I shoot them, and shoot them alot when I'm able. Is there any merit to leaving this one untouched? Or any gun under a certain pricepoint or rarity? On a good day it's not worth tons of money of course (~$500-600).

20230228_235850.jpg

Basher

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    May 3, 2022
    Lafayette
    It’s worthless, just give it to me and I’ll dispose of it for you… ;)

But for realz though, shoot that thing! Guns are happiest when being used, and it would be a pity for you not to enjoy it some. :)

COOPADUP

Accipiter
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Aug 8, 2017
    Hamilton County