• ...and so much more!
  • bwframe

Loneranger
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    93   0   0
    Feb 11, 2008
    Btown Rural
    Damnit... I forgot to drain or even stabil my tanks... Guess what I hope to do tomorrow.
    I tried to start mine a month or more ago. Pretty much knew what I had to do, but had been putting it off until this storm threat tonight.

I'm glad my fix was as easy as hoped. I watched a few youtubes on the subject that were helpful on draining the old fuel out.

TheGhostRider

Watching from a distance…
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Jan 10, 2009
    Fort Wayne
    In my past life I was a Generac Factory Certified tech. I worked on all makes and models of generators. The number one thing you can do for a gasoline genny fuel supply is purchase ethanol free fuel... keep the genny empty until needed. Keep an air-tight drum (~20 gal) or more of ethanol free fuel stabilized on standby. Buy a cheap 12v transfer pump, strap the fuel drum to a 2 wheel dolly with a battery in a boat box on a tender.
    Another thing you can do if you don't keep a lot of fuel on hand... keep your vehicles full and have that transfer pump ready.
    Keep the genny empty and draw fuel as needed from a frequently run vehicle... always has fresh fuel in it.
    My genny is setup to back-feed the panel in the garage which in turn powers the whole house.
    Kill the main breaker, fire up the genny and carry on. Easy peasy. Know your load requirements and snuff anything that smokes major amps... In my case I can run my whole abode minus the central air. Sucks if its hot out but here most outages occur in winter/spring when its still below 80 degrees and humidity is minimal.

maxwelhse

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 21, 2018
    Michiana
    Another thing you can do if you don't keep a lot of fuel on hand... keep your vehicles full and have that transfer pump ready.

I'll slightly disagree with you on that single point.