• ...and so much more!
  • 1nderbeard

Master
    Local Business Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    39   0   0
    Apr 3, 2017
    Hendricks County
    I've never had a problem with Ruger, but stuff made post-pandemic seems to have taken a quality hit.

Two of my newer additions have rather serious issues.

I bought a SP101 online, that I posted about prior. First range session and I couldn't hit anything; from 20 yards I missed about 20 out of 30 on roughly 10 inch steel. I'm no pistol expert, but I can hit man sized targets at 50 with iron sights so I knew something was off. I took it to a friend's LGS. He noted the barrel was canted about 5 degrees to the left while looking down the sights. No wonder I was off...

Second issue:

Ruger SR22. I was unaware but apparently there are consistent issues with the magazine safety engaging mid magazine. At the range yesterday about 3 of 5 shots the trigger would fail to reset.

The only nice thing is Ruger Customer service answers the phone after about 1 ring, and they both sent me pre paid postage to send the guns back...To Be Continued.

Rating - 100%
    28   0   0
    Oct 3, 2008
    On a hill in Perry C
    I think the problem goes back longer than covid. Quite a few recalls, especially on first editions of new models, the last 5 or so years plus lots of minor issues on just about all their models. The CS department should be good, they get lots of practice.

Dean C.

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Aug 25, 2013
    Westfield
    Honestly I feel like QC in general has taken a decline the last few years across the board. SIG has had issues , S&W had to recall that bullpup shotgun. Unless you get into the "mid tier" stuff (IMHO $1,500+) I just don't really trust most things from the factory anymore.

Noble Sniper

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    132   0   0
    Feb 22, 2010
    Anderson, Indiana