• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • D.R.SCOTT

Plinker
    Nov 24, 2010
    Indiana
    My newest pistol is a Beretta M9A3, and its my first pistol that is threaded. A friend of mine has a 9mm carbine that has a muzzle break attached, and they both have the same threading and they are the same caliber. So we thought it would be fun to throw switch the break when we go shooting next to see if there is any difference for science sake. But it got me wondering...

Are they interchangeable?

I would assume so, Same threading and caliber, but there is always the possibility of some obscure knowledge that would say other wise. I couldn't find much on the interwebs either. I have lots of experience with firearms, but not so much with threaded pistols so I figured I would ask and see what others have to say before I just try it.

Last edited by a moderator:

Tombs

Grandmaster
    Jan 13, 2011
    Martinsville
    As long as there isn't a bore obstruction caused by installing the BRAKE, it shouldn't be a problem.

It should work fine on your beretta but browning action type pistols may or may not like a brake depending on the gun.

D.R.SCOTT

Plinker
    Nov 24, 2010
    Indiana
    browning action type pistols may or may not like a brake depending on the gun.

Would that be because of a locked breech vs blow-back action design? I can see how changing pressure would effect the cycling of a blow back action. I also heard of tilting barrels causing some issues with larger comps and suppressors, as it changes not only pressure but also adds moving weight that acts like a fulcrum for the tilting barrel. As you said, it should work fine as the A3 was designed with these issues in mind, as well as the light weight open slide. I will still try out multiple ammo loads tough to see how it handles high/low pressure variations.