• ...and so much more!
  • Jont22

Sharpshooter
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    52   0   0
    Aug 24, 2019
    Morgan County
    What would the average person consider reasonable to spend on an optic as it relates to the value of the gun? I recently bought a savage mark ii and I’m struggling with a suitable scope. I’d like to have something nice but what’s too much to put into an optic on a $250 gun?

Personally, Id most likely just use it for plinking, but something versatile would be good. I’d like to hit 100-150 yards. No certain targets.

Last edited:

2A-Hoosier23

ammo fiend
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Sep 16, 2018
    Lawrence
    I am no expert but I think that question is usually answered best by first determining what your needs are. If you could provide more info that'll help narrow it down so you can get better advice.

Just to get the ball rolling on
    the "purpose" of this optic. Is this going on a hunting rifle? If so, what kind of game and what location will you be hunting?

Is it more of a plinking rifle? If so, what distances and kinds of targets will you be shooting at?

not an exhaustive list of questions, just some to help narrow it down a bit

Leo

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 3, 2011
    Lafayette, IN
    I cannot tell you what is important to you.

A hunting journalist of the 1960's recommended a good scope should cost as much as the rifle. I have looked through a $1200 scope and I cannot imagine needing more than that. The manufacturing ability in optics has made big increases. $250 scopes are really pretty good optically, of course features drive the price up.

Like a lot of gear, call your buddies, look through every one you can. Specs on a web site can help, but some things that look good in an ad can be pretty disappointing once you buy it.

Hookeye

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Dec 19, 2011
    armpit of the midwest
    I pick my optic on need, not price.