• ...and so much more!
  • Firehawk

a.k.a. Rainmaker, Rainhawk, Firemaker or whatever
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Nov 2, 2011
    Lebanon
    I’m not an expert but I have gone through a few everyday carry (EDC) knives the last few years. My advice, get something general purpose and very affordable to start with that catches your eye. Carry it for awhile and you will learn your preferences on what like and don’t like. Then you can use that knowledge to make a better choice on your next knife.

For instance I found that I prefer a smaller and thinner folding knife that my phone doesn’t snag on when carried in the same pocket. But I had to try something to start with and then fine tune my preference.

Hop

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Jan 21, 2008
    Indy
    My favorite do it all is a Spiderco Endura wave.

Easy, one hand open and it's faster than an automatic (I'm sure somebody will argue it). Holds a good edge.

Serrated edges are good for bread and people that can't shapen knives. Learn how to sharpen a knife and you'll be happy.

That's my EDC but "not when working" knife! I love it. The wave works extremely well for me. I'd never EDC carry one of my switchblades, those are only for "fancy" occasions.

Blade style is very personal. What one person hates, another will love. Maybe start watching the TV show Forged in Fire and learn about the different knives of the world, different steel used, history, etc.

KittySlayer

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 29, 2013
    Northeast IN
    In addition to choosing a knife determine how you will keep it sharp. Part of that is choosing a steel “you”can sharpen. Avoiding serrated blades which are hard to sharpen. Leaving enough in your budget to buy sharpening tools “you” can use effectively.

Steve

Master
    Rating - 100%
    84   0   0
    Nov 10, 2008