• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Notalentbum

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jun 12, 2013
    Indy westside
    I’ve been carrying this same Gerber design folder for 10+ years. I love everything about it except it doesn’t hold an edge. I’m sure a lot of that is the way I use it. I cut up a lot of cardboard in the course of a week as well as the usual uses. I usually sharpen it on Mondays and it’s good for the week. I really like the light weight and slim design. I’d love to find one similarly sized but with better metallurgy.

Suggestions?
    Matt F98B1BA7-148D-4433-AADD-BDF9A37D84D7.jpeg

jagee

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Jan 19, 2013
    New Palestine

Notalentbum

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jun 12, 2013
    Indy westside
    I bought one because I thought it would be a good alternative. I’m a lefty so the pocket clip holds it backwards for me and it feels a bit heavy bouncing around in my pocket. I never know the Gerber is in my pocket till I reach for it.

Matt

Dean C.

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Aug 25, 2013
    Westfield

Get diamonds to sharpen it , but seriously for cardboard you are WAY better off just using a box cutter. Cardboard is the junkiest paper and has all sorts of crap in it that destroys edges. That being said the Spyderco is in ZDP-189 and that is probably the best we have in terms of edge retention currently with the exception of maybe Bohler M390 or Crucibles CMP 3V. It's a very hard metal that is about 65RC that being said the edge can be somewhat brittle due to the higher Rockwell rating.

tomcat13

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 16, 2010
    Near Louisville
    SIL gave me this one, a while back. No Complaints.
    51sW1-ve6RL._AC_SL1000_.jpg

drm-hp

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Jan 23, 2019
    Brownsburg