Not open for further replies.

indyjohn

PATRIOT
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    77   0   0
    Dec 26, 2010
    In the trees
    At the end of last fall we moved out Beech, Maple, Poplar, Oak, & Walnut. (pics not in order).
    20221023_143409.jpg
    20221023_143506.jpg
    20221023_150213.jpg
    20221023_150304.jpg
    20221023_150544.jpg

As soon as we finish another project currently in the works and the ground is hard or dry enough, we will be back out at it.

cg21

Master
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    May 5, 2012
    So getting a wood stove installed in the house sometime during spring / summer. I am new to the fireplace game and have never heated anything besides marshmallows with wood. So I think I found the splitter I am going to get (unless someone tells me it is terrible) https://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_200632933_200632933

now I need to find a real saw (right now I only have a 16” electric ego saw) should I look used thinking stihl or husquavarna just because those are the big names. I would like one saw that can accept different bars ? I don’t really want a bunch of saws laying around. But I know a 16” bar won’t cut it for a full time gig.

next is moisture meter? Are there ones I should stay away from ones better than others?

looking forward to joining the party and stacking wood.

klausm

Grouchy Gar
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 4, 2011
    North Central
    with 2 saws you have a backup, and the ability to get back the saw you pinched. a 16" will cut alot of wood and be better for trimming etc, and then a bigger one for the trunk work. just my 2 cents. I never had a meter but try to stay 2 years ahead and stack so the wind and sun can help dry

Cavman

Master
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Mar 2, 2009