• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • illini40

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 28, 2010
    Hi INGO

I am a new deer hunter, in Illinois (shotgun).

This may be a dumb question, but something I was thinking about. How do you quietly load your shotgun, once you are up in your stand?

I hunt with a Mossberg 500, so naturally it is noisy to close the slide and load the first slug. Learning how sensitive a deer’s hearing is, I’m curious. Again, maybe I’m just a newbie on this, but would appreciate some guidance from the more experienced crowd.

rosejm

Master
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Nov 28, 2013
    NWI
    Rule #3 - Always keep the gun unloaded until you are ready to use it.

Find your spot first, then load your firearm & chamber a round.
    If you need to move, unload the round from the chamber.

Most shotguns are NOT drop-safe, so you always run the risk of the hammer falling on a chambered round.

The Dawg

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 16, 2015
    Evansville
    I don't know that there is a great way to make it quieter. Move as slowly as you can while still getting it closed up right. Personally I don't chamber a round until I'm in my stand.

ghuns

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 22, 2011
    I hunt with an AR in .458 SOCOM. It's a RRA upper with one of their notoriously tight chambers. I you don't pull the charging handle back all the way and let it slam shut, even using the forward assist is no guarantee of the the thing not going "click".

I usually put the gun on my lap, cover it up with my coat, pull the charging handle, and let it SLAM shut.

The coat muffles it, but it's still loud AF.:rolleyes:

teddy12b

Grandmaster
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Nov 25, 2008