• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Chris387

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Mar 21, 2012
    Just south of Indy
    I've been shooting skeet with a pump shotgun for a few years and I'm now looking to buy a good O/U that would be good for skeet and sporting clays, but don't know what to look for.

I have a budget of around 2.5k max so what would be the advantages of going with a Browning or Beretta in that price range verses a slightly cheaper Franchi?
    What about barrel length and adjustable comb stock verses fixed stock?

thunderchicken

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Feb 26, 2010
    Indianapolis
    If you have the money for a Browning or Beretta don't even think about anything less.
    IMHO one of the best options out there right now is the Browning CX. It's designed as a crossover type gun that is designed to be good for trap/skeet and sporting clays. Barrel length for most clays guns is 30-32". Some like a tad shorter at 28" for skeet but I find the 30 to balance well. 12g is king in clays games just vary the load to what you are shooting and how soft you want it to be.
    One thing is absolutely important with a target shotgun and that's gun fit. An adjustable comb help with fit, but can also be used to change the point of impact should you desire a higher patterning gun or flatter shooting gun. An adjustable butt plate will allow you to correct any issue with canting the gun should you need it. Those are both able to be done after the fact at a reasonable price should you later decide to do it.
    If you plan to have a gun that will last and hold value buy a Browning or Beretta.

Reactions: Leo

wildcatfan.62

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Jan 9, 2011
    South Bend