• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JMSnodgrass

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 31, 2022
    Mar
    I am relatively new to reloading and have done about 3k rounds of 9mm and 200 rounds of 45 cases. I wet tumble with SS Pins, Dawn dish soap, and a bit of Lemi-Shine. After tumbling for a couple of hours using a Harbor Freight 6# dual tank rock polisher my brass comes out clean and bright. I immediately spread out the cases on a paper towel on a cookie sheet to dry. My problem is after a couple of days the cases have lost their shine. What can I do differently to help the cases keep their shine/brightness?

bwframe

Loneranger
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    93   0   0
    Feb 11, 2008
    Btown Rural
    No offense my friend, but you are being too particular. You are the only one who thinks that your brass isn't shiny enough.

That said, I use a Franklin brass dryer and media separator that tumbles the most of the water out before drying.

You might try backing off of the lemishine and or rinsing more to get the acid thoroughly off.

No matter what you do, unless you vacuum pack, brass will get dingy. Humidity contributes to that.

mark40sw

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 5, 2015
    Roanoke
    Having shiny brass is very important. If you can't shoot well, you should at least look good with sparkling brass. I take it very seriously:cool:

As mentioned, too much lemishine can dull brass by leaching zinc out of brass. I use about a 9mm to 45acp brass full for a Franklin tumbler full.

After tumbling with dish detergent and lemishine, I will rinse. Then fill & tumble with tablespoon of armour-all wash&wax. Then, not rinsing, pour out brass & let dry. A thin layer of silicone will form and keep brass looking good.

I don't tumble with pins anymore. Brass just as clean without pins with the insides somewhat clean.