• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Newb556

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 26, 2021
    Indiana
    Hello everyone! I hope you're all well. I am between two rifles that fire 556. One is a Smith & Wesson M&P Sport 2 and the other one is an Fn15 Carbine Mlok 16". The SW is going for 900 and the FN is going for 1400. That is my absolute max price point. I am new to rifles so I would appreciate some advice.

What I want. A very reliable rifle that could withstand the test of time. Something that would be great for home defense all the way to zombie apocalypse, where you most likely won't be able to clean your gun (a bit dramatic). I have always wanted a BCM, based on what I've heard from many. But don't know if that's realistic based on what's happening as of right now. Am I thinking too hard about this? Is the $500 worth the price jump? Should I hold out for a BCM? I will not be getting another rifle for a long time.

Thank you in advance for helping a humble noob.

Colt556

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    65   0   0
    Feb 12, 2009
    Avon
    The S&W should be fine for you. They’re decent rifles and Smith will stand behind them with their warranty. $900 seems a bit steep but I guess for the times it’s the going rate. Good luck with your selection.

Steve

Master
    Rating - 100%
    84   0   0
    Nov 10, 2008
    I strongly recommend the S&W M&P Sport 2. I have owned one for a few years now and am more than happy with it. Good shooter with no issues. Kept mine a "plain Jane" model, it would be easy to put accessories on it if I choose to. And you get the lifetime warranty from S&W. If there is a Rural King close to you, might check it out. They usually have the best pricing on there long guns (if they have any in stock). I am sure they could beat a $900 price tag (at the moment anyway). Good luck in your search and decision.

Dean C.

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Aug 25, 2013
    Westfield