• ...and so much more!
  • kyle1058

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jun 6, 2009
    Noble County
    This is probably gonna be an ugly thread, but grab the popcorn.. :popcorn:

I've been shooting for 18 years, and i've been carrying for almost 3, and recently i've been looking for a second or backup carry gun. Currently i carry a Glock 19 (not the only firearm i own).

I've been carrying/shooting gold dots and corbon +P JHP's, and noticed most of the ammo said it had 460 to 499 ft lbs of energy... that's right up there almost to a 44 magnum, and more than a 357 magnum.

Also looking at 38 special +p ammo that's in the range of a 380!! (same type of bullet/load, just different caliber)

Can someone explain to me how I can carry a 9mm semi-auto handgun with 16 rounds of ammo that packs more punch per round than a .357 magnum, or am I completely missing something besides energy, bullet weight, and expansion?

Not getting into penetration, i know some rounds would exit a target of flesh or ballistic gel...

I'm just trying to understand a few things before i drop cash on another carry gun.

I appreciate all input,
    Thanks!
    -Kyle

5.56'aholic

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 5, 2009
    <- tragic boating accident
    id say the number you are quoting for a 44 has to be a wad cutter load or target load, most 44's will produce in the 800-1000 ft/lb range at muzzle, 600 or more at 100 yrds. also, one needs to consider if you are looking at personal defense ammo vs hunting.

Reactions: Leo

Hoosier9

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Feb 27, 2011