• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rb288

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Apr 14, 2019
    Grovertown
    I recently gained possession of a CZ 455 22lr bolt action rifle.
    I am new to the 22lr world and would like some advice, or, "education" as to what ammunition others are using for accuracy.
    My purpose with this rifle is mostly, target shooting, but, for use as a backup shtf/survival rifle, if ever necessary.
    I have a bulk box of Federal 40gr copper coated bullets that shoot well, but, would like to "educated" as to what other/better options there might be.

Thanks in advance.

Gabriel

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Jun 3, 2010
    The shore of wonderful Lake Michigan
    I'll start off by saying you picked a bad time to get into a new caliber. Finding 22LR right now (or any other caliber) is not easy.

To answer your question, I've had good luck with CCI SV. Most of the CZs seem to like SK Standard for a little more accuracy. When it comes right down to it, 22LR rifles are finicky and one really needs to try as many different rounds as possible to find the one the rifle likes best.

Hawkeye7br

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 9, 2015
    Terre Haute
    Almost any mid budget ammo will shoot reasonably well. CCI, SK, Wolf, RWS, etc. If you shoot a lot of groups, low budget ammo will seldom outshoots higher price ammo. The difference between mid price vs high dollar ammo is smaller and often not worth triple the price.

Egldriver

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Aug 15, 2010
    NW Indiana
    I have a 455 varmint. I have had great luck with federal auto match. I could pretty regularly hit a 4 ” plate at 200 yards and it grouped about
    an inch at 100 yards. Sk match is better. I just got some eley tenex but it’s so expensive it’s like shooting centerfire.

1775usmarine

Sleeper
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    81   0   0
    Feb 15, 2013
    IN